Dallas Car Accident Lawyers at The Barber Law Firm

Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer

Each year, the number of car accidents across the country increases.  The number of reported automobile crashes has risen by more than a million over the past five years, bringing the most recent totals to over 6 million crashes per year.  The majority of the crashes result in bodily injury, and unfortunately a significant amount of those accidents results in the death of someone with fatal injuries each year. Not only do car wrecks result in physical damage and injuries, but there are also financial and emotional consequences that auto accident victims may face.  If you were injured in a motor vehicle accident that was due to someone else’s negligence, let The Barber Law Firm handle your claim by dealing with the insurance companies and litigation so that you do not have to.  Our lawyers can help you recover lost wages, medical and hospital bills, as well as funeral costs should the accident result in the death of your loved one.

KRIS BARBER AND OUR EXPERIENCED TEAM OF ATTORNEYS CAN HELP YOU

Kris Barber and his team of Dallas Auto Accident attorneys recognize the factors that are most urgent following a traumatic automobile wreck:

  • Ambulance, hospital, medical treatment and surgery costs
  • Lost wages associated with the auto accident
  • Future medical treatment
  • Funeral costs

 

 

Forming a strong case can be daunting.  Not only are you recovering from your injuries, but you will need to collect and submit all documentation needed to establish a claim in order to receive the fair settlement you deserve.  Our attorneys have considerable skill, knowledge, and experience with car accident claims.  They will help you by working with you, the medical providers and the insurance companies so that you can focus on your recovery.   The following will be reviewed by the insurance company when evaluating your claim:

  • Photographs of the scene of the accident, vehicle and other damage, and the injuries suffered
  • Recorded statements by those involved in the car crash, the police, and any witnesses
  • Hospital and medical provider bills and records

The best way to fight for your rights against insurance companies that seek to obtain the lowest possible settlement is to consult a personal injury attorney.  Representing clients in Dallas, Fort Worth, and throughout the entire state of Texas, The Barber Law Firm will work for you to recover for your personal injuries due to an automobile, motorcycle, or truck accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence.  Our lawyers take cases involving, but not limited to:

CONTACT A PERSONAL INJURY ATTORNEY QUICKLY

If you have been injured in a car wreck, a claim should be filed soon after the accident since there is a limitation on the time to file. The Barber Law Firm can discuss your situation with you immediately, and if we agree to handle your case, we will work on a contingent fee basis, meaning we only get paid when we win your case. For a FREE consultation, contact our Dallas, TX auto accident attorneys at 972-231-5800, or fill out our online form.

Texas Insurance Requirements:

  • All Texas drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage. Basic insurance coverage in Texas is 30/60/25. This means that the current minimum for liability limits is $30,000/each injured person, up to $60,000/accident and $25,000/accident for property damage.
  • Texas law requires Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance to be offered, but a waiver can be signed declining the coverage. Insurance companies are required to offer $2,500 in PIP coverage but many companies will have options to add more to a policy.
  • PIP covers medical expenses, 80% of lost wages and costs associated with hiring a caregiver for the injured person after an accident. PIP is a “no-fault” policy meaning that it covers your injury regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
  • It is estimated that approximately 13% or 1.6 million Texas drivers are uninsured. Texas law requires Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) coverage to be offered, but a waiver can be signed declining the coverage.
  • UM/UIM insurance protects you if you have been in an accident caused by someone without insurance, someone who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover bodily/property damage or a hit-and-run accident.
  • Collision (for damage to your car) and Comprehensive (for damage other than collision) coverage is required if you still owe money on your vehicle.

Texas Motor Vehicle Accident Statistics:

Drivers and passengers are often injured as a result of motor vehicle crashes every day on Texas roads and highways. Being a safe driver is not always enough since we share the road with so many other drivers.  Unfortunately, about 1 in 7 Texas drivers do not have auto insurance.  Therefore, having Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) coverage and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is extremely important.

According to data compiled in April 2017 by the Texas Department of Transportation, there were a total of 551,971 crashed in 2016.  The number of traffic fatalities increased by 5.45% from 2015, giving 2016 a death toll of 3,773. Unfortunately, there was not a day in 2016 that did not experience a death on Texas roadways.  According to TXDOT and the 2016 reportable automobile crashes, the following statistics are dreadful:

  • Every 2 hours and 20 minutes, 1 person was killed
  • Every 1 minute and 59 seconds, 1 person was injured
  • Every 57 seconds, 1 reportable crash took place
  • A total of 265,076 individuals were injured
County in
North Texas
Total Crashes
in 2016
Total Injuries
in 2016 
Fatalities
in 2016   
Collin 13,764 7,999 50
Dallas 55,797 45,308 288
Denton 12,127 6,381 42
Ellis 2,572 1,410 24
Erath 732 394 12
Hood 794 413 15
Hunt 1,394 931 28
Johnson 2,255 1,409 23
Kaufman 1,995 1,744 28
Navarro 1,357 580 6
Palo Pinto 558 230 8
Parker 2,174 964 21
Rockwall 1,385 560 12
Somervell 163 80 2
Tarrant 34,732 25,567 166
Wise 978 423 19
All Texas Counties 551,971 349,651 3,773

 

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, some of the most common contributing factors to motor vehicle accidents:

  • Cell/mobile device usage
  • Disregarding stop or yield indicators at intersections
  • Not yielding to pedestrians
  • Distraction inside the vehicle
  • Driver inattention
  • Under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Speeding, traveling at an unsafe speed or failure to control speed
  • Distracted Driving
  • Texting and Driving

Distracted Driving Accidents

Texas Lawyer Kristopher Barber represents victims and their families who have suffered a death or sustained injuries as a result of someone else’s negligence due to distracted driving. Many times, victims will suffer pain and suffering, lost wages and medical bills caused by a distracted driving accident.

There are 3 types of distracted driving.

  • Visual – taking eyes off the road
  • Manual – taking hands off the wheel
  • Cognitive – taking focus off of driving, i.e. lost in thought, mind wanders

Every year in America about 421,000 people are injured in motor vehicle accidents (MVA) that involve a driver who is distracted.  In Texas, there were 455 people killed in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted driving in 2016. There are many examples of distracted driver that you may not have considered.

  • Talking on a cell phone
  • Texting
  • Eating or drinking
  • Grooming
  • GPS or navigation usage
  • Adjusting radio or other vehicle controls
  • Talking to passengers
  • Passenger distractions
  • Pets
  • Reading
  • Watching videos
  • Fatigue
  • Smoking
  • Reaching for a devise or object in the car, purse, wallet or briefcase
  • Outside person or event

There are ways to limit and prevent distracted driving.

  • Do not talk or text while driving.
  • Limit the use of radio and navigation
  • Limit the volume and activity of passengers
  • Limit the number of passengers in your vehicle
  • Limit the use of Bluetooth and voice commands
  • Organize yourself before you begin driving
  • Groom and eat before or after driving
  • Pull off the road if something needs your full attention
  • Pull off the road if drowsy, fatigued or upset

If you have been injured in an accident where the driver was distracted, contact the police and seek medical treatment for your injuries immediately.  It is also very important that you seek legal counsel in order to protect your legal rights.  The Barber Law Firm is available for a free case evaluation for distracted driving cases.  Lawsuits must be filed within a certain amount of time from the date of accident, so if you intend to pursue legal advice or a claim, contact a Texas distracted driving attorney.  Click here for a free consultation from our experienced injury attorneys in the Dallas, TX area to ensure that you do not waive your right to possible compensation.

Texting and Driving Accidents

Texas injury attorney Kristopher Barber represents motor vehicle accident victims and their families who have been injured or even suffered the loss of a family member due an accident caused by texting and driving.  These types of accidents can cause serious injuries, pain and suffering, lost wages and medical bills.

Texting and driving is the act of composing, sending and/or reading text messages, emails or similar use of the internet on a mobile device.  This can result in fines, accidents, injuries, death and even a rise in auto insurance rates.  A total of more than 330,000 individuals suffered injuries caused by texting and driving in Texas and around the country.

There are 3 types of distracted driving: visual, manual and cognitive.  Texting and driving involves all three!  Texting and driving requires you to take your eyes off the road, take your hand(s) off the wheel and takes your focus off of driving.  This trifecta of distracted driving is extremely dangerous and causes thousands of auto crashes, injuries and deaths each year in Texas. Each year, more than 400,000 people are injured in crashes that involved distracted driving in Texas and around the country.

Prevent texting and driving:

  • Download an app to block your phone while driving
  • Turn your phone off
  • Put your phone out of reach while driving
  • Pull off the road if you need to report an emergency

On September 1, 2017, Texas became the 47th state to enact a ban on texting while driving.  House Bill 62 prevents drivers from reading, writing or sending an electronic message while their car is moving.

According to the HB 62 Analysis, “Distracted driving continues to be a significant factor in property damage, injury and death on this state’s (Texas) roads and highways.”  The analysis stated that 40% of drivers between the ages of 19 and 39 say they text while driving. Drivers who text will on average take their attention off the road for 4.6 seconds out of a six second period of time. This is the same as driving 55 mph for the length of a football field.  Additionally, according to Executive Director of the Texas Department of Transportation James Bass, 455 people were killed and more than 3000 were seriously injured last year as a result of distracted driving.

What Texas Drivers Need to Know:

  • Drivers cannot read, write or send an electronic message while operating a vehicle, unless the vehicle is stopped, such as at a red light or stop sign.
  • Drivers under the age of 18 are not permitted to use any wireless communication device while driving
  • School bus drivers carrying minor passengers are prohibited from speaking on a cell phone or texting while driving. All bus drivers are banned from texting while driving.
  • Drivers are prohibited from talking on a cell phone or texting while in a school zone.
  • Drivers may still talk on a cell phone if they are using a “hands-free device”.
  • Drivers may use a cell phone for GPS and music.
  • Drivers may use a wireless communication device to report illegal activity, car accident or an emergency.
  • At this time, cities are still able to pass and enforce hands-free laws within their city limits.

Currently over 95 Texas cities already have some type of hands-free ordinance in place.  At least 45 of them have ordinances that are stricter than those set forth by HB 62. Argyle, Austin, Bedford, Denton, Floresville, Hill Country Village, Hurst, Lake Dallas, Little Elm, Midlothian, New Branfels, San Antonio, San Marcos, Watauga and Wichita Falls are among that group.

Failure to comply with the new state-wide ban could lead to a misdemeanor charge with a fine of $25 to $99, and repeat offenders can be charged up to a $200 fine.  If an accident is caused by texting while driving and it results in a death or serious injury of another person, the driver can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which comes with a fine up to $4,000 and up to a 12-month jail term.

If you have been injured in an accident due to distracted driver texting while driving, you should speak with an attorney.  Click here for a free consultation from our experienced injury attorneys in the Dallas, TX area to ensure that you do not waive your right to possible compensation.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave