Even if you are the safest driver in the entire Dallas-Fort Worth area, you run the risk of being involved in an accident simply because you share the roads with other drivers. Normally, if you are involved in an automobile accident and you sustain a personal injury, you are entitled to pursue a claim for your entire amount of damages against the other driver. However, if the person has inadequate insurance or personal assets to compensate you, you may be out of luck.
Under Texas law, drivers are only required to have a minimum amount of automobile insurance coverage, which includes $30,000 for bodily injuries per person (with a maximum of $60,000 per accident), and $25,000 for property damage. Therefore, if a driver causes a serious accident and only has the minimum insurance required under Texas law, a seriously injured accident victim can only recover $30,000 for his or her injuries, unless the driver has other significant assets that could be collected. In addition, many drivers simply ignore the insurance requirements and do not carry coverage at all.
In that situation, you may be able to receive compensation under your own insurance policy. Your policy may contain coverage accidents caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists. In that case, you will make a claim with your insurance company for damage. However, your insurance company has an interest in paying out as little as possible in damages, which may mean that you need to speak with an attorney.
If you have been involved in an accident in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, and you believe you need to speak with an attorney to ensure you are fairly compensated, call the Dallas automobile accident attorneys at the Barber Law Firm. We will provide you with a free consultation on your case, and if we choose to accept it, you pay us nothing until we obtain damages for you. Call us today at 972-231-5800 to learn more or to schedule your free consultation.