Recently released statistics show that 24.1 percent of all drivers in Dallas County are uninsured. Among Texas’s largest six counties, that is the highest percentage of uninsured drivers in the state. These statistics are surprising since state law requires that drivers maintain minimum levels of coverage. The state has also maintained a three-year initiative designed to reduce the number of uninsured drivers.

Texas requires drivers to maintain minimum insurance coverage. The minimum coverage amount is $30,000 for each injured person ($60,000 per accident), and $25,000 in property damage. Texas has a program, called TexasSure, which allows police officers and county tax officials to electronically confirm whether a Texas vehicle has insurance coverage. The program is aimed at preventing drivers from using counterfeit insurance cards or canceling insurance coverage later.

If a driver is found to be violating the insurance laws, the first conviction can result in a fine between $175 and $350. Later convictions may result in fines of between $350 and $1,000, a driver’s license suspension, or even impoundment of your vehicle.

It’s imperative for all drivers to obtain uninsured motorist insurance coverage. This insurance is designed to protect you if you’re involved in an accident with a vehicle that doesn’t have insurance coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage doesn’t add much to the costs of most insurance premiums, and it can be crucial in the event of an accident.

Have you been involved in an accident in the Dallas area? If so, contact Dallas automobile accident attorney Kris Barber at the Barber Law Firm today at 817-527-8833. He will provide you with a free consultation on your accident case.