In Texas, drivers are required to carry insurance on their vehicles, or to otherwise prove they can be financially responsible in the event of a crash. Texas law requires that evidence of financial responsibility be available to show to a police officer if asked, or if you are involved in an accident. Most drivers decide to purchase insurance in order to fulfill that requirement.
In Texas, minimum liability insurance requirements for vehicles are $30,000 in coverage for injury or death to one person, $60,000 in coverage for injury or death to more than one person, and $25,000 for damage to property. That minimum liability insurance will compensate a person other than the driver for personal injury or property damage.
Unfortunately, not everyone chooses to obey the law in Texas by purchasing insurance. By some estimates, between 20 and 30 percent of the drivers on Texas’s roads don’t have insurance. Those individuals without insurance are also involved in a lot ofTexas’s automobile accidents.
Fortunately, automobile policies offered for sale inTexasmust offer uninsured motorist coverage. That coverage is designed to pay for a loss that you incur that’s caused by a driver without adequate liability insurance. This could include any medical expenses, property damage, loss of income, or other expenses. The coverage is also extended to all members of your family who live in your household.
Have you been injured in a Texas automobile accident by a driver who did not have automobile insurance? Are you covered by uninsured motorist coverage? Call the Dallas personal injury attorneys at the Barber Law Firm at 866-986-1529. They will help you sort through which insurance company is responsible for your accident. Call them today.